Monday, 17.12.2018, 21:59
Main Registration Login
Welcome Guest | RSS
Main » Articles » Albums » ALBUMS

Wayne Hancock - Swingtime 2003

Contains an untitled hidden track following "Flatland Boogie". Recorded live at The Continental Club, Austin, Texas on March 6 & 7, 2003. As anyone who has heard him knows, Wayne Hancock is a honky tonk man, and what a honky tonk man does best is make with some tunes suitable for both dancing and beer drinking at an unpretentious nightspot along the highway. So the idea of a Wayne Hancock live album would seem like a no-brainer, and this set, recorded during a two-night stand at Austin's Continental Club in the spring of 2003, effortlessly captures his firecracker enthusiasm and the sharp picking of his band in full flight in front of an audibly enthusiastic crowd. Of course, all of Hancock's previous records have been produced by Lloyd Maines, who hasn't exactly cluttered up Hancock's sound with a lot of messy overdubs, so the performances on Swing Time don't differ dramatically from the studio versions that appeared on his previous albums. The main difference on Swing Time is that Hancock puts a bit more fire behind his vocals and gives his players a little more room to stretch out, with steel guitarist Eddie Rivers and lead pickers Dave Biller and Paul Skelton making the most of their solo spots throughout. One might have hoped for a bit more fresh material in the set list as well, and a one-hour live album seems just a bit skimpy from a guy who can play a three-hour set without batting an eye, but as it stands, Swing Time is a not-bad "best of Wayne Hancock" sampler, and while it's OK for fans, it's also one of the better places for beginners to start digging into Wayne the Train's hard country sound. Sorry, beverages not included! ~ Mark Deming Live Recording Personnel: Wayne Hancock (vocals, guitar); Rebecca Snow (vocals); Paul Skelton, Dave Biller (guitar); Eddie Rivers (steel guitar); Bob "Texaco" Stafford (trombone); Dan Enriguez, Rick Ramirez (bass). Personnel: Wayne Hancock (vocals, guitar); Rebecca Snow (vocals); Eddie Rivers, Dave Biller, Paul Skelton (guitar); Bob "Texaco" Stafford (trombone); Dan Enriquez (bass guitar). Liner Note Author: Wayne Hancock.

01. Lose Your Mind (3:18)
02. Louisianna Blues (3:31)
03. Big City Good Time Gal (4:24)
04. Juke Joint Jumpin' (3:50)
05. Thunderstorms & Neon Signs (5:00)
06. Johnny Law (3:43)
07. Tag Along (2:13)
08. Route 66 (3:36)
09. Highway 54 (3:07)
10. We Three (4:29)
11. Hoy Hoy Hoy (3:43)
12. Walkin' the Dog (3:14)
13. Flatland Boogie (8:00)
14. Bonus Track - Summertime (7:04)

Bitrate:mp3, 320  kbps  Size: 109 MB

pass nich
Category: ALBUMS | Added by: nichkon (14.02.2013)
Views: 610 | Tags: texas country, Music | Rating: 0.0/0
Total comments: 0
Only registered users can add comments.
[ Registration | Login ]
Friends !!! Welcome in new my sites - RarePopRockVinylMusic - Enjoy!


Image hosted by


Site menu

My Friends List

  • Section categories
    ALBUMS [221]


    Total online: 1
    Guests: 1
    Users: 0


    Music Blogtrotter

    Login form

    Site friends
    Country Funsite

  • Create a free website
  • Online Desktop
  • Free Online Games
  • Video Tutorials
  • All HTML Tags
  • Browser Kits

    Copyright MyCorp © 2018